I'm new and I need some basic help with text and layers

I am new to Paint.net. Usually when I get new software, I can play around with it and figure it out. For some reason I am having all kinds of problems understanding the basics of this software. I need help with basic things like:

After I type in text using the text tool, how do I hightlight the text so that I can copy it?

How do I get two pictures to come together, kind of like a collage? Im trying to use layers, but I cant figure it out.

I have tried to go through the tutorials, but I cant find any basic information.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

fd

*Get rid of the "im new" part of the title*

To answer some of your questions, for the text tool, once you click out of it, you can't click back on (i think). You have to use the magic wand.

To make a collage, make a large image (way bigger than the images you will be working with) and just post them on that.

I'm still alive!

PDN is not a word processor, it is a Bitmap editor. Once you finalize your text it is just a bunch of pixels like the rest of your image.

I will tell you guys what I tell everyone who asks these kind of questions(And there are a lot! Try searching "text"):

"Always add your text onto its own layer."

Take responsibility for your own intelligence. 😉 -Rick Brewster

Editable text doesn't make it a word processor. Having editable text means you can change the text you entered. It is an important feature and PDN will have it, and it still won't be call a word processor when it does.

PDN is not a word processor, it is a Bitmap editor. Once you finalize your text it is just a bunch of pixels like the rest of your image.

I will tell you guys what I tell everyone who asks these kind of questions(And there are a lot! Try searching "text"):

"Always add your text onto its own layer."