Frustration with selection tools and layers

I am new to Paint.NET, having found it on a search for a program with layers. I don't get along with GIMP, nor Photoshop Elements. I deal tolerably well with Irfanview.

I had a program which met most of my needs, called PhotoFinish, but it does not work under Windows 7 Pro. Nor did it have layers.

I am attempting to design Barn Hunt courses for practice with my Dachshund and my Beagle. The courses are out of straw bales and plywood which is cut to specified sizes.

For an example of my Boy, Harper, in action, see here. (Pay no attention to the handler -- just watch the gorgeous hound in action. Warning, my husband is NOT a videographer.)

I figured Paint.NET's layers would be ideal, since I have to lay out the levels of a course, and then be able to print them, one level at a time for the course builders to be able to put them together.

I have created two files. One has my scaled images for the straw bales (12" x 18" x 36") and the plywood boards, and then a spacer to be sure I have the tunnel wide enough (18" x 18").

I am trying to use the Magic Wand (which was one of the features I loved best about PhotoFinish) to select an image, copy it, and paste it into the other file.

I paste... and then try to select part of that image, but I can't. I get whatever I pasted. Or I get everything around it.

Plus, if I select something with the wand, before I can move it, I have to punch M? And once it's in place, I have to hit Enter to deselect it? And then go back and click the tool again before I can select something else?

Why is it, that sometimes, when I select an item, and it's clearly selected, and I copy it, and then go to paste it in the other file, I get a blank selection? Little lines of selection showing, but not the actual item itself?