How to Install Plugins ×

'ZIP Archive' FileType Plugin (.ZIP) [Latest v1.4 2021-11-04]

midora

• 5 weeks later...

I'm a complete noob to plugins, but I followed the directions, and put the plugins where plugins usually go (In the effects folder right?) But it still doesn't work, I am using one of the versions its compatible with, version 4.0.5 but it still doesn't work. I mean, how do I get the option to show? Like save it as a regular .PNG file?

Basically what I'm asking is how do I use the plugin when I have it installed.

Not quite.

Filetype plugins go in the \Filetypes\ folder, not \Effects\.

From the first post...

Follow the instructions carefully

• Copy the two files 'ImZIP.FileType.dll/.dlc' to the Paint.NET\FileTypes\ folder
  • Remove other plugins supporting the same file type (.zip) from Paint.NET\FileTypes\ folder (to avoid possible conflicts) I.e. 'TileImageFileType.dll' plugin.
To verify the installation you should restart Paint.NET and check that the filetype popup of the 'Open...' file dialog contains an entry starting with ZIP.

• 2 months later...

Basically what I'm asking is how do I use the plugin when I have it installed.

When installed correctly,

Go up to the Menu Bar in paint.net > File > Save As > click the Save As Type drop down list > look for "ZIP - Compressed Archive of Layers (*.zip)", and then click "Save". The plugin's user interface should pop up.

Edited by Cc4FuzzyHuggles

• 4 weeks later...
  • 5 months later...
  • 2 years later...
  • 2 months later...
  • 1 month later...

Is it possible to prevent the layer names from being changed in the archive?

For example, in paint.net my first layer is "01". When I save it into an archive, I would like to keep it as "01", instead of "L3,R1,C1,01,visible,normal,255".

• Like 1

• 1 year later...

@AP2020, you do not need a plugin for that.