Line Art from a color image

Msomi

Hi. I'm a newbie with this program, so forgive me if this is a dumb question. I am busy on a new project and want to convert color images to line-art that would be suitable for use in a coloring book.

I've done as much as I think I can, but the results are not acceptable to me.

I desaturate, do the ink-sketch effect and adjust brightness and contrast. This leaves too much 'clutter'.

Am I missing something, or is there a decent technique that works well?

post-141262-0-20165300-1430991113_thumb.

post-141262-0-99720200-1430991128_thumb.

I doubt those plugins will really help Msomi do what s/he wants to do. What Msomi wants, as I understand it, is a method that will produce a "clean" line drawing from a photograph; that is, one with well-defined black lines on a white background. I wish I had a good suggestion on how to do that, but I don't know of a plugin or a series of operations that can do that; especially with an image like the wild cat, which lacks sharp color boundaries. Crayola has a website that supposedly turns photos into cartoons (it requires buying Crayola products to register). The "examples" they show make it look like it would do a great job, but it's actually terrible. I think it's a pretty difficult problem.

Neil Cassdy has a color segmentation plugin that might possibly be helpful for something like this. The images could be color segmented, then the color regions outlined. I don't know how well that would work.

Skullbonz - when I wrote my post, there was a button at the button for uploading files. I used that.

To the others who have replied - thanks, I'll try your suggestions. MJW ... I am a he! lol

Hi, Msomi!

Take a look at the following and tell me if it looks close to what you're looking for. If it does, I'll tell you how I did it.

cat-sketch-comparison_zpso0bwtwui.jpg

• Upvote 1

• 2 weeks later...