Incredibly slow initial startup

Hi

I love this product, and I've been using it for probably over 7 years now (I can't remember off hand exactly how long).

But, unfortunately, it's getting to be a little unusable, because all I need it for are very minor edits (like screenshots, etc) or just a place to PASTE screenshots for reference. The problem is, the startup time for this program can be well over 60 seconds on a cold startup.

I'll paste my laptop details below, but please tell me if there's anything that can be done on my side (including debugging startups) to help improve this.

thanks

=======================

Application paint.net 4.0.5 (Final 4.5.5454.39504)
Build Date 07 December 2014

Hardware accelerated rendering (GPU) True
Animations True
DPI 96.00 (1.00x scale)
Language en-US

OS Windows 7 Service Pack 1 (6.1.7601.65536)
.NET Runtime 4.0.30319.18063
Physical Memory 12 238 MB

CPU Intel® Core i5-2520M CPU @ 2.50GHz
    Architecture x64 (64-bit)
    Process Mode 64-bit
    Speed ~2494 MHz
    Cores / Threads 4
    Features DEP, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4_1, SSE4_2, XSAVE

Video Card AMD Radeon HD 6470M
    Dedicated Video RAM 1 004 MB
    Dedicated System RAM 0 MB
    Shared System RAM 5 863 MB
    Vendor ID 0x1002
    Device ID 0x6760
    Subsystem ID 0x161E103C
    Revision 0
    LUID 0x0000AFE2
    Flags None
    Outputs 2

Do you have lots of plugins? That can cause a long startup. If so, remove the ones you don't need.

If you don't have an SSD, and aren't planning on getting one (although I highly recommend one, not just for paint.net), then do the usual thing of defragmenting.

BoltBait's advice to reinstall may seem weird, but it does force a re-run of NGEN. You can also open an admin command prompt and run "ngen update" (ngen is somewhere in c:\windows\microsoft.net\framework64\v4.something_or_other).

The Paint.NET Blog: https://blog.getpaint.net/

Donations are always appreciated! https://www.getpaint.net/donate.html

forumSig_bmwE60.jpg