How long have you been using Paint.NET?

PNGCubetrix

How long? And how you found it? I was searching 3 years ago for a drawing software. I wanted to draw few video game characters and i wasen't so good at image editing back then. Then i found Paint.NET and installed it. On first sight, it looked like the normal microsoft paint. I got mad and i was about to uninstall it, but i didnt. Few months later i needed to make a logo. I tried out few features that Paint.NET have offered and so i started learning. Now i am Intermediate user of Paint.NET, and i use Paint.NET when i need to make anything. Logos, thumbnails, and other things!  

I don't remember how exactly I got to Paint.NET. Maybe it was 3 years ago, a friend told me about this software but I might have actually seen it before he did. I did not pay much attention to it back then. I was a newbie at that time so I did not understand the layer system for these types of programs. I thought it was so confusing so I did not pay much attention to PDN. Back then I was relying on Windows 7's MS Paint for making edits and felt like a pro with it.

Then somebody asked me to create a transparent picture which is getting rid of the surrounding white background of a logo so I searched for a way and that's when I discovered what Paint.NET can do to make transparent PNGs. Photoshop is too heavy to use quickly on my machine so I had to settle with PDN. I learned about the layer system around the later months of 2012 when I had to use layers to trace a new outline for a map, paint its green then add a background. It turned out easy to understand. I was also looking at the simpler tutorials on Youtube and discovered how to change the eye color using a layer with Overlay blend mode and using certain plugins.