Help Please Changing Colors Of Clothing

I did some forum searching but did not find an answer to this.  But please feel free to point me to a tutorial etc. if this is already documented someplace.

I sometimes need to change the color of an article of clothing on a model photo.  What sometimes works is I create a duplicate layer.  Then I use Adjustments>Hue/Saturation and change the hue.  Often I can get the color pretty close to what I need this way.  Then I use the eraser on the rest of the image, flatten and save.

My problem are the times when changing the hue doesn't get me anywhere near to the color I need.

I am familiar with hex color codes, and can choose a code for what I need.  If I'm able to use the magic wand to select the area, is there a way to use the color picker to change it without just making the selected area a solid color?

Many thanks in advance.  I realize I am a novice at this,,,

For a quick answer, have you tried the re-color tool? It feels nicer to me in 4.0 than it use to in 3.X. It even has two ways of color sampling now.

Other than that, for recoloring things I normally cut-out the object then work with it on it's own layer. It sounds like you already do something similar to that. In case you are interested though, for multiple ways of cutting out objects see here : http://forums.getpaint.net/index.php?/topic/28305-mini-tuts/?p=409110

When I recolor, sometimes the object I am trying to recolor gets funky colored when I try to use only hue/saturation. So, I often will first make everything a stable color tone with either sepia, or turn things black and white, or I use the Caynotype plugin from KrisVDM's plugin pack.

Then to get the colors I want I use a mix between Hue/Saturation, Levels, Curves or Curves+, Brightness/Contrast (all found under the adjestments tab) and Color Tint, Color Filter (effects tab > colors).