Paint.NET window location erratic

RpD

(Similar to post about 'Window locations not persistent'.

New post, since nobody moved old one for me >;} )

(I've done PC/network/CADD support for a living, so I have some experience with PC's.)

As long as I can remember using Paint.NET, the main window has not kept a persistent location for me... but the Colors andTools windows do maintain locations after closing the program.

Editing the registry doesn't appear to help, deleting the Paint.Net branch doesn't help.  Even if I don't move the main window, the re-opening location will not use the Left, Top coords from shutdown.  For some reason, the size of the main window is most often kept... but it seems not always (rare). 

I'm on Windows 8 now... before you say it's not supported, this problem existed on Windows 7 and on different machines if I remember correctly.

I have no idea why it moves around, or... how to lock it down.  Often the re-opened window seems to rest along the bottom of my screen and not necessarily in the middle... however, if maximized, it will remember that it is maximized.

What does Paint.NET do differently when to read/generate the Top, Left coordinates for opening the main window from the registry, that's different from reading the coordinates for Colors and Tools windows???

NO other programs that I run have a problem retaining their window locations.

This is simply tiresome to keep moving the main window after it opens, because it's usually showing up -under- the Colors and Tools windows which I have placed off to the right side of the main window (when it's where I want to place/size it).

(My current Toshiba notebook has the Intel HD Graphics 3000 display adapter, not an ATI/Hydravision or whatever. Paint.NET version is 3.5.10. I use an external HDTV for a monitor, but it apparently doesn't make a difference if I switch to my notebook's panel only.)