Is Paint as good as Photoshop CS?

SEA

I'm new to designing and want working on some professional pics with Photoshop type editing. I have a friend who does my art work and he uses CS but it is $$$ and all.

All I want is to do some cool things right? :lol:

So... is there any designs that fellow Paint users can show me like stuff for CD's and websites perhaps?

Also, what about Tutorials? Anyone in particular or just start from the beginning?

Thanks!

SEA

Edited by SEA

Here's one of my favorites I've seen recently by SAND33P:

2du00ua.png

Rick might say that "if you have photoshop, then by all means use it," but personally, I use paint.net in place of photoshop (I have a copy of CS5)

I think the two have their separate strengths and which one you use really depends on what you are using them for.

For example, a large number of 3D text tutorials I see for photoshop say "bring in 3D text from <some other program>." As for me, I don't have those other programs; but fortunately, I have paint.net, so I just make the 3D text in paint.net and balance is, yet again, restored to the force.

Edited by pdnnoob
  • Upvote 1

No, Paint.NET is not spyware...but, installing it is an IQ test. ~BoltBait

Blend modes are like the filling in your sandwich. It's the filling that can change your experience of the sandwich. ~Ego Eram Reputo

Here's one of my favorites I've seen recently by SAND33P:

2du00ua.png

Rick might say that "if you have photoshop, then by all means use it," but personally, I use paint.net in place of photoshop (I have a copy of CS5)

I think the two have their separate strengths and which one you use really depends on what you are using them for.

For example, a large number of 3D text tutorials I see for photoshop say "bring in 3D text from <some other program>." As for me, I don't have those other programs; but fortunately, I have paint.net, so I just make the 3D text in paint.net and balance is, yet again, restored to the force.