Resize image and create separate background

jamiepattison

Im new with Paint .Net. What i would like to do is get an image which is 4248 x 3163 and resize it to around 250 px - this was done successfully however the next part of this task was to paste this image onto another background and float it to the right. So you know this is supposed to be a logo.

Now should i create another new paint .net page with the size i have in mind and then paste it to the right?

If yes how could i create a nice background that blends into the image? The type of background i have in mind is a few lines with waves flowing left to right and fading away.

I suppose i need to go through some tutorials but unsure what i would search on to begin the above so i would appreciate if someone could point me towards the right direction?

Thanks

Yes, you are on the right track. For sure search is going to be your best friend, as will putting everything you can on a new layer. That means too that if you get an effect that your love you can use it again & again.

Maybe take a look at Gradient Blur for the fading or even using the gradient set to transparent? Good luck with it.

DPI + you is essential reading - will save you much tears & frustration. Hope others give you some idea too :)

THiGVp.png

Knowledge is no burden to carry.

April Jones, 2012

Hi jamie, it seems as though you are on the right track, once you have shrunk down your logo make a new project at the size required. At the top of paint net you will see you now have two canvases and you can switch between them, copy the logo by using ctrl+c then select the other project and press "add new layer" then press ctrl+v to paste the logo in.

These tuts might be handy.

http://forums.getpai...m-my-joker-sig/

http://forums.getpai...e-sig-tutorial/

Edited by minners71

hello jamiepattison, welcome to the forum.

You don't have to copy your picture to a new image.

Just add a new layer and make your background on that layer.