LCD display 64 bits by 112

Tourism group in southern Iowa bought an LCD display that is approx 5' tall by 8' wide. Specifically 64 bits tall and 112 bits wide. I have been in charge of its operation since it's purchase over a year ago and it works fairly well. My problem is I am NOT an artist, nor the least bit artistic. I would like it to be special. It can handle various images and videos, and many I can simply convert so they will work. I recently found that MS Word has a somewhat limited word art that does some creative effects to text that I can then bring in as graphics. It sometimes works, but are there any fairly simple tricks in Paint.NET that I can do to make images, videos, etc that would make it stand out at such low res? I use Paint.NET exclusively for trying to resize pictures, blacking out the background, or clean up pictures that just don't look right on the screen. Currently I resize pictures incrementaly. That is when a pic starts out at 1500 pixals and I need it to be 64 I'll resize something like 20 times geting smaller each time. Sometimes I'll mess with contrast and sharpness to TRY to make the image clearer at the end. Any advice for the artistic disabled?

You mean 64 pixels by 112 pixels? That's a small screen!

The preferred resize technique is to work with a canvas that is 200%, 400%, 800% or 1600% larger than you want. The idea is that you can resize down in one operation. Your incremental resizing is only going to introduce unwanted blurring as pixels are resampled again and again.

64 x 4 = 256 pixels and 112 x 4 = 448 pixels. If you work on a canvas that is 256 x 448pixels you can resize the image to 25% to get your final screen size.

If your software can handle PNG format I'd recommend that. It has support for the Alpha channel (transparency).

If you're really having trouble making images 'pop' on the screen try uploading one and let us see if we can find some more suggestions for you.