Paint.net feedback

I am a professional photographer and digital retoucher withteaching experience.

I have been looking for open source photoshop like softwareto recommend to students that cannot afford to spend money for software.

I have been aware of Gimp for some years now, but inrecently coming across paint.net have to say I’m quite impressed. Let me saybefore I continue that I am not going to try to compare paint.net to AdobePhotoshop that is for the professionaluser.

Much of the work I do in Photoshop requires using fewfeatures for best results. As a photographer there are some changes I feelwould make a big difference to this software.

Lasso

The lasso tool is one of the most powerful tools for turningan average photo into a professional image. I like the way the lasso tool worksbut one change would make a big difference. The lasso tool needs a featheroption.

If you make adjustments to the brightness and contrast by either usingthis option or by using levels or curves you can gain great contrast whilelosing detail in the highlights. The image would look noticeably better at thecost of losing fine detail. By using the lasso to make selective adjustmentsyou can create balance and an image. The lasso tool is an option that works great in Gimp as it has a feather option. The feather will allow selected areas to be adjusted without leaving sharp edges as the adjustment graduates into the surrounding area.

I also use the Lasso tool instead of applying a layer mask.The Lasso tool is very versatile and the tool I use most in Photoshop. Withoutthis tool I would not be able to produce images at the high quality my imagesare produced to.

Layer Mask