Graduating from begginer to intermediate

I've been using paint.net for a while, and have got the beginner's basics covered fairly well (layers, some effects, etc.). I'd like to make the jump to intermediate user, and start using and understanding things like alpha masking, other key pluggins, and the more complicated effects and tricks. When I stumble across something interesting, this forum is great for finding tutorials on that particular topic. The hard part is knowing where to go next. If you've never heard of alpha masking, for example, you'd never think to learn more about it or how it could help. Can anyone recommend a list of must-know topics that fall between "complete newbie" and "experienced user"?

I'd make a few visits to the tutorials section if I were you. Even if you aren't going to make anything in there, it is still worth taking a look because many explain how and examples of when to use different tools/plugins. You'll be surprised at the number of uses there are for each plugin, even if you know what they all do. I imagine I still haven't even scratched the surface of what can be done with the dents plugin myself o.o

No, Paint.NET is not spyware...but, installing it is an IQ test. ~BoltBait

Blend modes are like the filling in your sandwich. It's the filling that can change your experience of the sandwich. ~Ego Eram Reputo

I'd make a few visits to the tutorials section if I were you. Even if you aren't going to make anything in there, it is still worth taking a look because many explain how and examples of when to use different tools/plugins. You'll be surprised at the number of uses there are for each plugin, even if you know what they all do. I imagine I still haven't even scratched the surface of what can be done with the dents plugin myself o.o

Very good advice. Alpha masking is good but I don't use it nearly often enough. There are some really good tutes on this.

THiGVp.png

Knowledge is no burden to carry.

April Jones, 2012