How do I create this effect?

Hi there,

I want to remove the portrait images on this header and replace it with a new portait but still want to have the "halo" (??) effect of the lighter blue surrounding the new portrait....

As you can see from the attached header image, the "halo" effect follows the shape of the woman's head....I want to be able to recreate the same look.....

How do I do that?

I'm a relative newbie to Paint.net so please provide detailed steps....appreciate it.

I have attached the current header.....

Thanks

Regards

Greg

post-75193-130442138459_thumb.jpg

From the Plugins sections, I would download & install the True Blur first. Your need to restart Paint.NET if you already have it open.

On the header of your choice, add a new layer & move it below the image (figures).

Select the colour you'd like the glow to be (halo). With the paintbrush set to a reasonable thickness go around the figure. You really don't have to be too precise with this.

You can then use the True Blur to suit what you'd like. Not sure if the current version has Bolt Bait's Fast FX as standard but the Glow on that may also give you good results. Otherwise there is Glow under the Photos section.

Hope this has been helpful. Please ask again if you need more help.

THiGVp.png

Knowledge is no burden to carry.

April Jones, 2012

From the Plugins sections, I would download & install the True Blur first. Your need to restart Paint.NET if you already have it open.

On the header of your choice, add a new layer & move it below the image (figures).

Select the colour you'd like the glow to be (halo). With the paintbrush set to a reasonable thickness go around the figure. You really don't have to be too precise with this.

You can then use the True Blur to suit what you'd like. Not sure if the current version has Bolt Bait's Fast FX as standard but the Glow on that may also give you good results. Otherwise there is Glow under the Photos section.