Text Help Please

I've been using PDN for a few years now and, needless to say, I love it.. I do a lot of graphics, though I'm hardly a professional, and I recommend PDN to all my friends.. I find it far easier to use then PSP, which boggles the mind with it's over-the-top features and complexity..

However, I do find that PDN seems very limited in it's ability to create unique text which I feel it should be able to do.. I have a good 150 fonts used for my cards and scrapbooking loaded onto my computer and I would like to be able to do more with them using PDN.. When I create a name I often overlay a couple of different colors for an outline effect but then find, when I use the magic wand tool to make the BG transparent, the edging on the letters are very ragged.. Not very attractive on a card for sure.. Why can't I place text over a transparent BG? I've tried doing this by making my first BG transparent and then try to make a second layer with my text, but it hasn't worked.. The text just disappears..

I'd also like to create transparent text that I can then overlay on a solid or textured BG and have not been able to figure out how to do this either..

I would sure appreciate any help on these 2 problems.. I do have an old copy of Microsoft's Picture It, which allows me to create some nice effects with text, but I just feel as though I could use PDN more for creating unique text if I knew what I was doing.. :/

Thanks in advance for any help you could give me on this..

This:

Always put your text on transparent layers.

When I create a name I often overlay a couple of different colors for an outline effect but then find, when I use the magic wand tool to make the BG transparent, the edging on the letters are very ragged.. Not very attractive on a card for sure.. Why can't I place text over a transparent BG? I've tried doing this by making my first BG transparent and then try to make a second layer with my text, but it hasn't worked.. The text just disappears..