Having trouble installing Paint.NET 3.5.7!

mpeterson

Hey, this is my first time posting here, so I hope I'm doing this right. I'm having trouble installing the newest version of Paint.NET. when I go to install it, it keeps saying that "This application requires Windows.NET Framework 3.5 SP1 or greater.", even though I have the newer version, 4.0, installed. Is there something I'm doing wrong?

Paint.NET should be able to run on .NET 4, but you can install 3.5 side-by-side, which is a better option, as most of Paint.NET's testing is done on 3.5.

Try to install .NET 3.5 SP1 from here: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=ab99342f-5d1a-413d-8319-81da479ab0d7

xZYt6wl.png

ambigram signature by Kemaru

[i write plugins and stuff]

If you like a post, upvote it!

To be precise, .NET 4 will work if it's the only version of .NET installed.

If you have any other .NET version 2.0 through 3.5 installed, then 3.5 will be used and required. Example: You have .NET 4 and .NET 2 installed. In this case, Paint.NET won't work. You must install 3.5 SP1.

(It works this way not because I'm a sadist, but that's just the way the .NET version requirements manifest works. .NET framework 2.0 through 3.5 all use the same .NET 2.0 runtime, which is what you are permitted to version against in the manifest.)

The Paint.NET Blog: https://blog.getpaint.net/

Donations are always appreciated! https://www.getpaint.net/donate.html

forumSig_bmwE60.jpg

Should I just download every other framework leading up to 3.5, and hope it works then? I'm still getting the same error when I try to install 3.5.

Should I just download every other framework leading up to 3.5, and hope it works then?

No.

Have you tried repairing the .NET framework?

xZYt6wl.png

Probably have to download the update and reinstall, upon reinstall of update should be able to get repair option. modify, or install.