Add a button to Paint.NET GUI

David Rutten

Greetings oh knowledgeable ones,

I'm new to Paint.NET, long time PSP user but decided to try Open Source. One of the most common operations I perform in pixel editors is to add a drop-shadow to icon images. I found the Drop Shadow plugin and am happy with the results it produces, but it reverts to default settings every time I start it. There doesn't appear to be a preset editor for it. I also found the ScriptLab plugin and I have successfully made a script with the proper settings. However running this script involves far too many steps on my part.

Is there a way I can add a button to the main Paint.NET gui which runs the drop-shadow filter with the appropriate settings? Ideally it would even subsequently save the png file using 32-bit pixel depth and close the image.

Much obliged,

David

Edited by David Rutten

After you use it once in one session, the settings will remain the same until you either use it again with different settings or close pdn. From what I'm seeing, the only way to change the default settings is rewriting the plugin with the desired default settings built in. I don't believe you can add buttons to pdn

No, Paint.NET is not spyware...but, installing it is an IQ test. ~BoltBait

Blend modes are like the filling in your sandwich. It's the filling that can change your experience of the sandwich. ~Ego Eram Reputo

After you use it once in one session, the settings will remain the same until you either use it again with different settings or close pdn. From what I'm seeing, the only way to change the default settings is rewriting the plugin with the desired default settings built in.

Maybe it would be a good idea to store last used settings in the registry or something? In Photoshop, each plugin remembers its settings even after restarting the program.