Jump to content

Can't make changes to image after adding a second one


Recommended Posts

Hi folks. New here and enjoying the tutorials, very helpful.

I can't however find a tutorial or a question addressing how to go back and change and image after adding a new one. Example, I go to layers, import from file, doodle with that image and then add another one, fiddle with that one, and then I would like to go back to the first image to make more changes, but I can't... I have tried everything I can think of to highlight, so to speak, the first image but cannot.

FAQ didn't address this issue and nothing else I have read did either.

Thanks for any tips.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In the "Layers" window, selct the layer that contains the first image, and continue from there.

Also, make sure that you have deselected the second image by pressing Ctrl+D. Otherwise, the only changes you will be able to make to the first image will be in the selection, and, therefore, obscured by the second image.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

WOW, Rubrica that was fast... and thanks...

but I am having a stupid moment... I don't know what the layers Window is... I see the layers "tab" (not truly a tab) at the top of the page toward the left... next to file, edit, view image and etc.... At the top right of the page I see a thumbnail image of what I am working on, which doesn't seem to indicate separate layers... the thumbnail at the top is the same as the larger image I am working on... it seems the 2 layers are merged, when I pressed control D these images became locked and move as one... vs the second image having been movable before control D...I can't get the "move selection tool" to select the image I'd like to play with...

I feel awfully dumb... thanks for your help... if you could clarify what the layers window is (the thumbnails at the top right?) and how it would be apparent that the layers are indicated, separate and able to be manipulated, it might clear some fog from my poor little brain...

Thanks again, your patience is very appreciated :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

There are usually four open windows on screen on each corner of the image area. Tools in the upper left, history in the upper right, colors in the lower left, and layers on the lower right. You may have closed these windows to keep them from blocking an image you were working on. You can go to Window->Reset window locations to bring them back up.

sig_v3.png
Link to comment
Share on other sites

becauseilearn ,

Thanks for that tip, I had no idea this program had split windows... and now screams of GIMP... no likey that...

The two images I wanted to manipulate separately were shown as the background... but still no luck with what I'd wanted to do... I created new layers and yakikity yak... not doing what I want with a few simple clicks...

too bad "bring to front" or "send to back" and a few other simple clicks aren't choices... too bad this seems more complicated than need be...

I'm not a total moron... just impatient...and this app is not self explanatory... thus this forum...

ack...

thanks for the point in the right direction... you're a peach... this app however is NOT

Link to comment
Share on other sites

ok calm down

there is a tab called 'Window'

in there is a 'Tool' selection, a 'history','color', and a 'layer' make sure the layer is clicked on-- there should then be a small square, usually on the right lower part of you PDN screen, that is your 'layer window' this is where you can toggle back and forth between layers- the layer highlighted is the layer you are working with

F7 will also toggle the layer window open/closed

Edited by mountnman

spacesig.png

SARCASM- Just one of the many services I offer free to the public.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...