Adjusting the area of a selection

Usually after I've selected an area, I would like to tweak the dimensions a bit, or maybe slide it a little up or the left, before doing a crop. Is there a way to adjust the area that that you've selected? I'm not asking about changing the underlying image, but changing the bounds and position of the selection area itself.

Thanks,

--Paul

Hello Frontcannon,

Newbie here hoping you can help. I spent a lot of time making the white background of an image transparent, saved it in pdn, and opened another image on a new layer to do the same. Somehow while working on the 2nd image, the first moved up and right; only a small portion is now visible in the upper right portion of the window/canvas. I didn't notice it until I went to complete the work today. Is there anyway to retrieve the full image now, since I apparently saved it in that position, or did I blow it and have to invest all the time to do it again? Your help is very much appreciated!

AKG :/

Thank you for your quick response,

Forgive my ignorance with this program. It gives me a pink transparent square to move around the screen, but I am not sure what I can do to make it retrieve the missing part of the image. Do I position the square over the area where the missing image part once was and resize the canvas?

Unfortunately, AKG, if I'm understanding your problem correctly, I believe your hard work is lost. In Paint.NET, all layers are the size of the image, and any portion of a layer moved outside of the canvas is discarded when the move is finalized. Unless you still have the image open so as to undo everything all the way back there, you'll have to cut it out again.