How can I measure (and re-apply) these image differences?

Arctic Giraffe

I have a lower resolution version of an image that has also had it's colours subtly changed as well as loosing some sharpness. I'd like to try and restore this lower resolution image to as close to the original as I can get it, but I'm new to the whole world of image manipulation and don't really know where to start!

What would be fantastic, is a step by step guide on how I would go about working out the differences between these two images, followed by how to go about applying them to the lower resolution image in order to make it look as close to the original as possible. But I'll take what ever advice I can get :)

Here are my two images - I've pasted part of the lower resolution image over a part of the original that I still have. By eye, I think the original only has six colours in it? Will I be able to improve on the sharpness of it too?

sharpen.png

I know Pyrochild has a color match plugin which should let you match the colors in the smaller image to the larger. It should be with his plugin pack in the plugins directory. If not, search. After that, you could just sharpen it, I think.

You image looks like it was exported from ArcGIS or maybe AutoCAD? If so, you could improve the resolution through the export function in ArcGIS by increasing the quality of the exported file. I do this all the time and have found that I can get an excellent output by adjusting the default settings in ArcGIS. Let me know if this helps or if I can advise you further.

SAC, WOTW and Photo Manip Competition Host

To visit the Comps click HERE

I know Pyrochild has a color match plugin which should let you match the colors in the smaller image to the larger.

Color Match is designed for photographs, not logo-style graphics with large patches of single colors. You can give it a try, but I doubt it'll be very pretty. Even with photos, it sometimes gives awesomely craptastic results.

xZYt6wl.png