Inserting into Microsoft Word 2007

I am new to this type of program and would appreciate help with the following problem:

I created a new Word 2007 document and I keyin one word in Arial - 26 - bold - blue.

I print it in 'medium' quality and the result is very crisp.

I create a new document in Paint.net 3.5.1 (300 dpi) with the same word, same font, etc, crop it and save it in the default format.

I then reload the document and save it in .gif, reload the document again and save it in.jpg, and finally .png.

I then paste this three files into Word 2007 and print in 'medium' quality.

The result is that in all three cases the word appears to be somewhat grainy to the naked eye and much more so with a magnifying glass.

I also tried the above with 96 dpi and there is very little difference (if any) compared to the 600 dpi test.

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

First, Simon Brown is correct in that you must be running the latest version of Paint.NET, which is v3.5.3.

Second, I don't see the point to your "test" at all. You're using Paint.NET, which is a raster graphics editor, and round-tripping some text through several quality-destroying file formats. You then compare it to Word 2007 which is a word processor and which stores its data in a manner that retains all semantic meaning related to text. When you compare printing pixels vs. printing text, the latter will always win.

When you copy from Paint.NET and paste into Word, you are pasting a bitmap. Word does not and cannot reify the text out of that. Especially when you've done the weirdest thing I've ever seen anyone do, which is to save in .GIF then .JPG then .PNG (what on Earth are you doing!?).

If you want to print crisp text, then just use Word!

The Paint.NET Blog: https://blog.getpaint.net/

Donations are always appreciated! https://www.getpaint.net/donate.html

forumSig_bmwE60.jpg

First, Simon Brown is correct in that you must be running the latest version of Paint.NET, which is v3.5.3.