Adding Lights?

Hi,

I am new to this Paint.Net and I am really into vehicles.

I want to edit my photos of trucks and vans and try and make them like they have lights on, is this possible?

They have flashing orae lightbars on them, but in the photos they are not on, so can I edit it and make a glow in a section of the lightbar and headlights etc?

Also, is there a way I can animate it to actually flash?

Thanks.

yes Benni it is possible.

so lets help you think this thru.

1) lights flashing this will mean you need two images one lights on one lights off

solution you need to know how to isolate just the lights

tip explore cutting out images the easy way . it is in the tut section. Simon did a nice little remake of an old tut.

viewtopic.php?f=34&t=28790&start=0

2) lights on picture this means you need to add some sort of glow.

solution adding brighter hightlights. you say orange lights so some yellow little bits for hightlights and even some white spots on one layer with some glow behind. Now seeing the truck with the lights off would provide better explination of where to place highlights. If its one of those grid style lights usually in centre of the grid, also depends on perspective. some hightlights off to one end brighter etc. when I say glow behind I mean layer below ...glow the simple way is blur the same color)

plenty of tuts for "how do I make it glow" in fact it was just discussed yet again on the forum last week. seems we get asked this one once a week. Here's just one answer,

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=30158&hilit=glow

there are other ways depending on what you effect you are going for. all avail by using that search button upper right of the forum page.

3) animation there is a plugin by Simon you should check out.

also there is an older legacy tut I find very simple to understand the mechanics of making animated images.

well worth a read

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=2492&hilit=unfreeze

a bit of reading but I hope that helps you get started.

ciao

OMA