Band Guy Needs NEWB Help adding text over an image!

UMT

I hope I'm not irritating anyone but I'm a NEWB with graphic arts type software and, of course, PAINT...

Here's my situation: I am under the gun to get a new band logo together. I have a JPG image where I've done some editing as part of my logo..... and it is fine. I need to 'superimpose' the name of the band over this image and my logo will be complete. I'm assuming that SOMEHOW, I can do this with the 'layers' function. I've done a small amount of reading and a lot of playing with the software but need some help as I seem to be missing something and I'm running out of time. There are GIGS to be played!

Can someone layout the steps I need to take to get this project done? Don't forget, I'm a NEWB! Also, a bunch of Thanks in advance if you can help!

1. Create a new layer with this icon in the layers window: :AddNewLayer:

2. Make sure this layer is on top of all the others with the layer up/down arrows in the same window.

3. Click on the text tool icon (in the toolbar) :TextTool:

4. Click on your image where you want the text to appear and begin typing.

5. Alter the font, size & other settings by changing the font name, size, etc..., in the text tool bar (should be just under Image & Layers menus).

oh and...,

6. Alter your post title so it reflects more accurately your inquiry - and do it quickly before someone sees!

6. Alter your post title so it reflects more accurately your inquiry - and do it quickly before someone sees!

Oh, I'll be alright now. ;)