Transparent globe with pattern on its surface

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to PDN. I've been using it a couple of months or so, and I've just discovered plugins and all the tutorials and stuff here and realised I can do more than just touching up photos (which was what I mainly used Paint Shop Pro for, which I used until my laptop died on me, then went looking for alternatives when I got my new one, and of course found PDN... :mrgreen: )

Anyways, having made some exploding planets and metalic text, a few nice abstract backgrounds, and a 3D logo, following various tutorials, at the moment I'm working on re-working my forum banner (my current one's very badly pixelated in places and badly anti-aliased, and doesn't look professional at all). As part of the banner, one of the things I'm trying to do is to do a glass sphere, and I've checked out the various glass button/sphere/orb/ball tutorials, and searched the forums here, but can't find anything similar to what I'm trying to achieve exactly. Where I'm coming unstuck is trying to get a design around the outside of the sphere. Unlike the "kiosk orbs" tutorial, I'm not wanting to put something inside the sphere, but on it's surface.

I’ve got two problems at the moment. While I can use Shape3D on my image to create the sphere, which I'm using a light coloured gradient background for, as obviously the glass would be transparent/translucent, I need the design around the surface of the sphere to be visible all the way around (i.e. how I'm imagining it in my head, you'd be able to see the reverse of the design through the sphere on the other side. Getting the design on the front of the sphere with Shape3D isn't a problem, but I can't figure out how I can get it showing through on the other side.