Applied Distance Blur (using Alpha Masking)

rwp80

Season's greetings to all!

I'm relatively new to Paint.NET. I discovered this forum when searching for an alpha mask add-on for PdN. In turn, I decided to contribute a tutorial of my own, in tribute to Illnab's amazing alpha-masking tool.

This tutorial explains how to apply distance blur to an entirely in-focus image

To follow this tutorial, we will need Illnab's alpha-masking add-on. Here is a good tutorial, with a link to the tool itself.

Also, you will need to be comfortable with layering, using the magic wand, multiple selections (hold ctrl when 'wanding'), inverting the selection (ctrl-I), using the gradient tool, and adjusting colour brightness values (Colors window, More>>, V).

In case you are wondering, I borrowed the image from this page of google image search.

This is the original image:

shot3.jpg

I selected this image for two reasons.

Firstly, although Wolfenstein 3D was the granddaddy of all first-person shooters, DooM was the BIG daddy! My choice was obviously an emotional one.

Secondly, this image is entirely in-focus. The walls in the background are as sharp as the shutgunner standing in front of our space marine.

The ".pdn" files for this tutorial are here.

Step 1: Separating the objects

The objects I selected in our image are the status bar, our marine's shotgun and glove, the zombie shotgunner, and the various other surfaces in the background. In this step we separate each object to it's own layer.

This first step is the most difficult, the most boring, and the most work. Patience is demanded!

- Open up our image and save it as a ".pdn".

- Duplicate the layer containing the original image. For convenience, let's call this the original image layer (OIL). Uncheck the OIL visiblity to avoid any confusion later on.