How do I create a "text box" (white background)

jfe

I am brand new to Paint.net. I take a lot of photo's of machinery and equipment as an inspector. I annotate my findings directly on the pictures. The old program I used was not very flexible. I like many of the features of Paint.net, but I can't figure out how to make a "text box". The text feature just places the text on the picture, which is great sometimes, but not always. I need to create a feature where the background of the text is a white box (which I could sometimes move around). Same for circles rectangles. Sometimes I need them to be "transparent" and other times I need them to be filled with a color of my choice (usually white). Is there an easy way to do this? I have already figured out that I could layer in a white box, and then write on top of it, but that is too many steps. Any shortcuts?

open your photo

leave your colors at primary black secondary white

add a transparent layer

use selection tool and draw where you want the box (rectangle/circle whichever you wish)

change to paintbucket tool

right click inside the box to fill with white.

best to add another transparen layer for the text

type the text

merge the text down to the rectangle box.

when you are satified all is in correct position under image flatten and then save your photo.

if you need semi transparent box you need to open the color wheel hit the more button.

addjust the sliding bar bottom right for transparency 255 is opaque decending numbers gives transparency.

hope that helps

Thanks, but multiply layering was what I was trying to avoid. I just wanted the background of my text to be white rather than "hollow" or "transparent". If I have to create layers for each text box, merge them and size them to get them to fit, that is not easier than the program I already use.

How much text are you writing? One line or multiple lines?

Do you require font resizing or any color options?

Can you post an example of what you want?