File MODE and DPI count CHANGED by Paint.net

Go to solution Solved by Pixey,

I am a seasoned user of Paint.net - and I use it every day, all day long, and have done so for going on 20 years.

I work as an artist, creating content for coloring books, thus many of my images are black and white sketches.

HOWEVER, for the purpose of creating manuscript for my publisher, my images are always created as RGB mode and 300 dpi pixel count, 8.5" x 11" page size, and saved as .png files.

Lately, when I edit my work for any reason in Paint.net, and simply SAVE the file at the completion of my work it is CONVERTED to Index file mode, often with strange (to me) pixel counts of 37.56 or 118.47 or 762.87 and humongous image dimensions.

Is there a way to STOP this from happening? 

Right now, I must close and save the Paint.net work, then re-open my files in Photoshop, check the file MODE, and change it BACK to RGB (yes, even though the image is a simple black & white sketch, I NEED RGB for my publisher) and very often I must again resize to my 8.5" x 11" page size at 300 dpi, from a HUGE file saved by Paint.net at 37.56 dpi, or 762.87 dpi, or whatever, re-flatten the image, and SAVE again in Photoshop as a .png file before I can go on with my work.

Thank you for any and all suggestions!

MaxMuhlin

Ann K.

In the saving dialog box, change the image type from "Auto-detect" to 32-bit.

image.png

If that doesn't work, please post an image (family friendly, sample only) that you don't like and one that you do.  One of our filetype experts will examine them and give you some help.

It would be best to zip those images up before attaching so the forum doesn't mess with the formatting.

Thanks, BoltBait . . . and how do I bring up that "saving dialog box" . . . on my HP desktop computer screen? 

PS . . . I am an 81 year old lady just tryin' to get along in this wild world.  Thanks, again. . .

Edited by MaxMuhlin

Hello @MaxMuhlin :)