Apply a conic gradient on a specific angle - how to ? ( radar screen scanning )

Go to solution Solved by Pixey,

Hi all, I'm new to Paint.Net, and I would like to paint the beam of a radar with a circular gradient.

To better understand what I mean, here is what I would like to achieve:

radar

I would like to build two images. The first ist the grid (I didn't try yet but I think it is not soooo complicated). The second image is the beam, which seems a conic gradient (from green to black) which spreads on an angle, say, of 30 degrees. In my application, the beam image should rotate above the grid image, in order to achieve the radar-beam effect (both images will be "blended" togheter, so that the beam image does not mask the grid image below).

I can indeed obtain a similar beam, but the conic gradient makes the gradient from, say, green to black from 0 to 180 degrees. What I need, however, is to limit the gradient only to, say, 0 to 30 degrees.

I've tried also the circular gradient, and also played with the filling-type, but I can't achieve what I want.

So the question, is there any setting in order to apply a conic gradient only to a certain degrees range ?

Thanks in advance and have a nice day,

Sergio

Edited by semar

• semar changed the title to Apply a conic gradient on a specific angle - how to ? ( radar screen scanning )

You could try making a conic gradient with black and white, then using the Levels adjustment (control-L) to compress the range.

If you wanted a slice that's compressed to about 30 degrees, using input levels low: 234 (about 330/360*255), high: 255 gets you that.

You can also adjust the high end of the input levels to compress it towards white instead of black.

• Thanks 1

Hello @semar and welcome to the forum :) 

Here are a few 'idea' steps.  I used @BoltBait's Grid maker, which is found in his pack.

gradient-in-clock.png

Once you make the gradient, as per the template, you can then go back and select