Ability to Flatten only SELECTED layers together.

For example if you were working on an avatar with a shadow, your layers box might look like this:

Person

Shadow (this layer is a pitch back blurred version of 'person')

Background

Now what if you want to combine Person and Shadow together so you can easily move it around, but NOT Background:

Person WITH Shadow

Background

There's only 'Flatten' which flattens ALL the layers together.

I want to know how I can select multiple layers, then click flatten and they'll flatten ONLY those. I'm sick of using copy and paste to 'combine' the layers together, especially when I have over 10.

I am a programmer, I can create code. That's not to say 'fkjkslgdajgsfsgaafghg' will work in the compiler.

I've wondered this in the past too, but I haven't been able to do it other then opening a new Paint.Net document and just putting in the layers from the picture you want to flatten into the other document, flattening that, and then just copying & pasting it back into a single layer in the original picture. If there is anyone that knows a better way to do this, please tell us. If not, maybe you should run this by Rick in the Feature Request forum..

- Chris

If you're not into numbers, call me Chris!

Yes...copy & paste is the only way. I now figure a way to implement this is simply be able to Ctrl + select layers and then click on a button that is "Flatten selected layers". I hope to see this in the first or second alpha version.

EDIT: As I recall, changing the UI isn't exactly simple. Several functions to make, remake, and modify.

~~

In the layers box, PDN already has checkboxes next to each layer that are supposed to toggle visibility. What if there was a button that could "Flatten visible layers?"

I am a programmer, I can create code. That's not to say 'fkjkslgdajgsfsgaafghg' will work in the compiler.

Yeah, "Flatten Visible" would be my choice. (That's how most other apps do it, as well :wink:)