Simplify text manipulation in Paint.net?

I've "used" Paint.net for many years, but only occasionally, and I readily admit that I'm not very good at it.  So today I returned here to again ask someone to remind me of what I must do to rotate a string of text I want to place onto an image.     

I saw Ardneh's explanation in the thread about "Text editing in Paint.net as in MS Word", and it reminded me of the right "path".  However, I got hung up after I had created a new layer, entered the text, then chose "Move Selected Pixels" - I couldn't figure out how to rotate the text.  Finally, I realized I hadn't "selected" anything, so I used the "Select Rectangle" tool to put a rectangle around that new text, THEN I used the "Move Selected Pixels" tool & that got the text rotated as I needed.  

So it all worked out OK, but that particular chore just seems to be a lot of trouble for me, as it requires so many steps to accomplish in a program I truly appreciate, but that I don't "need" to use frequently enough to remember all those steps from one time to the next.    

I'm sure there's a good reason why text rotation has to be done this way in Paint.net, but it nevertheless seems really strange to me, particularly because Paint.net lets me easily (1) draw a line, then (2) right click on the handle for that line, and (3) rotate that new line in a complete circle (if I want to) then stop it to rest at whatever angle I choose.  I don't remember anyone ever telling me how to do that, it just seemed intuitive and I use it all the time (well, as least when I'm in the program). 

But, when I try doing the same thing with text, it doesn't work in Paint.net.  Can someone explain why? 

Better yet, can someone explain why Paint.net shouldn't (or can't) be modified to permit rotation of a text string in the same manner it currently allows for rotating a line?  I think that capability would be a really useful and logical improvement for just about anyone who ever adds text to images.