When saving a .dds file in the same format as original the output file size has changed.

I have a dds file that is skin in a simulation I play. The format is BC1 (Linear, DXT1) The file size is 1.00Mb

I routinely edit this file to display trophies in game.

In this case it is the conning tower of a submarine.

I am a novice at this but it used to work before. I just made sure when I was done editing the file I did not click save as,, I just clicked SAVE to let paint.net save it as the original input format.

It would I would copy the file back into the game folder and see the new markings.

Now it isn't doing that.. its changing the file size.

If I open the file in Paint.net and change nothing, just tell Paint.net to save the file in the same format , the file it produces is not the same size. It says it is saving it as the same BC1 (Linear, DXT1) except the file it produces is smaller (682.8 Kb)

That file will no longer show up correctly as a skin in the program I was using it in ..

I know I'm missing something here, any help would be greatly appreciated

cc @null54

Which game is it?

Maybe the game is 1) using a format that DDSFileTypePlus doesn't support, 2) using a modified format that can't/won't be supported (boo on the game developer!), 3) I don't know, something else?

And like @BoltBait said, please post both the original image (the 1MB one) and the modified one that isn't working (the smaller one). You should be able to attach them in a ZIP file.

The Paint.NET Blog: https://blog.getpaint.net/

Donations are always appreciated! https://www.getpaint.net/donate.html

forumSig_bmwE60.jpg

5 hours ago, Rick Brewster said:

1) using a format that DDSFileTypePlus doesn't support

@Ccrashh mentioned that the file uses BC1 (DXT1), which is a supported format.

My guess is that the original file has mipmaps and the new file does not.

When clicking Save instead of Save As DDSFileTypePlus will currently default to BC1 / DXT1 without mipmaps.