Help with a project asap. Simple question

Hey all.

I'm quite new to Paint.net, and this sort of thing in general, only having downloaded it yesterday. I am currently trying to do a project for university and am struggling with one thing. I have used a photo for a backdrop for a planning poster I have to make. Example below:

brando-Example1.jpg

I can create boxes where I would like to put text but I don't know how to create a text box which will fit inside the transperant box I have created. Whenever I try to copy my text in it just appears as one long line across the page.

Sorry if this is a stupid question but I did a search and came up with nothing. Any help would be greatly appreciated as I have to finish it by Monday.

Regards,

Marlon

create a text box which will fit inside the transperant box

You can't.

Try to play with line breaks or use the Text tool multiple times.

No. Way. I've just seen Bob. And... *poof!*—just like that—he disappears into the mist again. ~Helio

Yeah, PDN doesn't auto line-break text to fit inside a bounding box. However, The GIMP doesn't do this either. The GIMP has a little window that pops up, kinda like Notepad, just a simple window with a text box in it. You use this text box to edit the text, and it changes on screen.

So, with PDN, you edit the text right on the image and have to break the text manually. In The GIMP, you look at the image and break the text in the box where needed. The advantage of The GIMP, however, is that if you need to change the text, you can edit it after the fact. If you use PDN for it, just make sure you have your text the proper size and wording before you commit the text.

Another free option would be Artweaver, but it has the same behavior as the above two - no bounding box for you!