Resize not working?

Hi,

I'm a pretty novice user when it comes to paint.net, but I'm pretty sure I'm doing this right.  I'm in Windows 10 using the Paint.net App and have a picture I'm trying to reduce the image size of by 87%.  I have two layers and after selecting the layer I want, I have tried using SELECT ALL and square select tool, respectively, to select my image, but the result is the same every time.  I pull up the resize box, select the percentage option and type 87 and enter.  The image blinks, and I see the layers in the layer box jump as if they are switching places (but they don't), but on the screen the image size remains unchanged.  The file size, however, is reduced.

I saw something in the beta thread about a Windows update 1903(?) correcting a resize issue for another user, but I have both that version and the app store says my Paint.net app has been updated, so I'm not sure what to do next.  Any ideas?

(I have used the shift+drag method to reduce a picture before, but I need a specific percentage this time, and I don't see anything that shows a shifting percentage while I'm dragging, just the pixels(?)xpixels(?) size)

Edited by Amita4ever

I'm going to guess that the resize worked just fine. It just didn't LOOK like the resize did anything because after the resize your zoom level changed. Check the lower right corner of your Paint.NET window to see the zoom level before and after the resize to see if it changed.

...or you could check the image size before and after. Find it in the Status Bar

statusbarsizes.png

https://www.getpaint.net/doc/latest/StatusBar.html#4

Thanks for the quick replies.

Okay, the size does change, so it would appear it's resizing both layers (and changing the zoom) at the same time. 

Can I not resize the image on one layer independent of the other layer?  I'm trying to resize the image on layer 2 to fit in a frame on layer 1 so would like to resize and tweak in the one file if possible.