How do I add a new plugin to paint.net?

Evuieve

Hi I'm new here. I am a digital illustrator who uses paint.net for most, if not all of my work. 

I was just wondering how one adds a new plugin to the program? Any help would be greatly appreciated! 

Thank you!

P.S. My apologies in advance if this is in the wrong topic! 

4 minutes ago, Evuieve said:

I was just wondering how one adds a new plugin to the program?

Plugin installation is documented in the online help:

https://www.getpaint.net/doc/latest/InstallPlugins.html

• Like 1

PdnSig.png

Plugin Pack | PSFilterPdn | Content Aware Fill | G'MICPaint Shop Pro Filetype | RAW Filetype | WebP Filetype

The small increase in performance you get coding in C++ over C# is hardly enough to offset the headache of coding in the C++ language. ~BoltBait

I've thought it should be made mandatory for plugin creators to provide a readme with the plugin which tells the user not just how and where to install it but also both its display name (not always exactly the same) and where it appears in the PDN tools menus. The latter in particular is not always obvious or logical eg. Red Ochre's CompoTool is installed under the "Photo" menu , three more of his plugins are installed under "Composition" and there are composition aiding plugins by other creators in "Render".

It would be an onerous task doing this for some large plugin packs but in general I think it should encouraged. At the very least it would stop the regular threads we get here like this about such matters.

IHaveNoName.png

1 hour ago, IHaveNoName said:

both its display name (not always exactly the same) and where it appears in the PDN tools menus.

Plugin Index

which tells the user not just how and where to install it

We have a devoted thread and it is well explained in the documentation. There are other online resources like BoltBait.com. A simple search will find the answer.