Transparent background disappearing?

I am a beginner with Paint.net but am not using it for anything advanced just need some custom map symbols.  I am downloading some simple 256X256 .png files that I then reduce to 16X16 and save as .bmp 24 bit.  The original .png files have what I would call a "transparent" background.  Looks like a checkerboard gray and white pattern.  But when the .png file is used as is, the only thing that shows is the symbol itself.  In other words if the symbol was a black X and was inserted on the map only the X would show, no opaque background.  This is what I need.  But after reducing the size to 16X16 and saving as .bmp 24 bit, and then using the file, the background has changed to solid white which of course makes a white square on the map.  Why is this happening and how can I keep the original transparent background that is in the downloaded .png file?  Thanks.

I have read other threads, including one just below this one, that sort of ask similar questions.  But what they are doing is much more complicated than what I want and don't directly state how to preserve the transparent background of the original .png.  I have read other places that to make a pixel transparent, set its color to magenta (RGB = 255, 0, 255), but I don't see how to do that or understand if it would even work.

Edited by WillT

Greetings WillT,

Since BMP files don't support alpha channel you loose transparency when you save. In PDN resize the original file to the dimensions you need and save as a PNG or TIFF to preserve transparency. (Give the file a new name or add a number to the old name as to not overwrite the original PNG.)

Edited by HyReZ