How can I move a selection without changing my background image?

I am trying to build a layered image. I have the background image set and am trying to add and then center another image on top of said background. I have tried to use the "move selection only" tool, which gives me a blue box around the selection and then only the blue box moves, leaving the selection in place. I have gone through the beginner tutorial which, while helpful, did not help me resolve this issue. Am I missing something? Is there another tool I should be using? This is my first time using photo editing software, so I may be overlooking something that would be obvious to a more experienced user.

That is correct. I tried using the Move Pixels tool originally and it took part of the background image with the selected image when I moved it. However, after reading your response, I tried it again and this time it worked without moving the background. I'm not sure what I did differently this time. Does the problem of the background being cut with the selected image sound at all familiar? I am going to go back and try to duplicate the process so I understand why it didn't work in the first place.

Thank you so much, and I do understand what you are saying. To that end, I have tried to duplicate my process and have attached the results. Perhaps you can see where I went wrong.

I opened the background image.

I added another layer

I imported the logo image, which appeared in the upper left corner.

The "Move Pixels" tool was highlighted, and when I tried to center my logo, it left a cut-out in the original position, as you can see.

Have I missed a step somewhere or should I have used a different tool?

Demo.jpg