Sign in to follow this  
dukof

Please allow to option out of the "Save Configuration"

Recommended Posts

I want to make paint.net my default fast/first option image editor. But unfortunately the "Save Configuration" forcing an extra click on every edit makes it simply unfit. 

 

How big is the percentage of saved images where those settings are modified across all users? I bet one in a million.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When saving an image, it is sometimes critical to change the configuration.  For the other times... click.

 

If your only complaint about paint.net is that it takes one "extra" click to save a file... and that makes it "simply unfit" for your purpose... I'm not sure you will ever find an image editor that will satisfy you.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, BoltBait said:

When saving an image, it is sometimes critical to change the configuration.  For the other times... click.

 

If your only complaint about paint.net is that it takes one "extra" click to save a file... and that makes it "simply unfit" for your purpose... I'm not sure you will ever find an image editor that will satisfy you.

 

Your response isn't addressing my post in a proper manner.

I'm not saying the configuration change should be removed. I'm suggesting it to be an option(setting) to display it or not.  

One extra click can mean 1 click a day for some tasks, or several clicks a minute for other tasks. If high-volume editing is not something paint.net is designed to target, then of course no reason to consider it. But this dialog is an odd choice to force.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you change the configuration of an image paint.net presents a dialog asking you to confirm the way you want it saved. Clicking to confirm is the way paint.net's developer (Rick) get you to take responsibility for the new state.

 

For instance I recall instances of users who are annoyed their multi-layered image has been flattened when saving as a JPG. They clicked OK without thinking. That was a mistake.

 

In short. I don't think there will *ever* an option to disable the prompt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this