increase thickness in line drawings

A little background on what I am attempting to accomplish. When my 5 year-old grandson makes a drawing, I am tasked with scanning the picture, cleaning it up, resizing it, converting it to an embroidery file so that my wife can use her embroidery machine to sew the drawing on a "curtain" for display and memories.

I use paint.net (obviously) to clean up and resize the drawing; however, I am very new to paint.net. I understand most of the basic tools but I am very inexperienced at some of the more powerful features.

He recently drew a picture of a flower (attached); however the size of the lines in the drawing are too narrow to embroider well. They are about a brush width of 25 and need to be at least 45 for the embroidery to look good.

I have tried a couple of methods both of witch kind of work but are very time consuming.

Method 1 was to simply trace around his drawing with the paintbrush set to a width of 45. This keeps the general shape of his drawing but loses a lot of his originality

Method 2 was to duplicate his drawing in a separate layer, shrink it a bit, then in another layer enlarge it a bit and finally move parts up and down and left and right to enlarge the shape.

I was hoping someone could tell me how to accomplish this task in a better manner. I am assuming the instruction might be more advanced than I am so please give me as much detail as possible.

Thank you very much

post-147118-0-84309400-1462566507_thumb.

One idea that might be worth a try:

Run Effects>Noise>Median, setting the Radius to 2, and leaving the Percentile at 50.

Repeat until the lines are wide enough.

(I can't quite say off hand why it widens the lines, but it does.)

You can use a plugin called 1px Expansion which is part of Dpy's Plugin pack.

Here is a comprehensive guide on HOW TO INSTALL PLUGINS on Paint.NET.