paint.net equivelant to 8.8.8.8.argb 32 save for msn.dds file type

I am somewhat new to using paint.net, but am trying to wean myself away from adobe.  I am currently trying to edit some textures for Skyrim, and am having issues with the msn.dds format. 

First issue, if I edit out a feature, I am left with a transparent hole.  There is no 'merge down' option.  How, in Paint.net do I backfill my edits with my default background?

Second, I need to do a save.  There is no 8.8.8.8 ARGB 32 option.  What is the paint.net equivelant? 

You can merge down in PDN, but you need a layer to merge down to; which is to say, you need at least two layers. I'm not sure what you have in mind when you say a "default background,"  but for instance if you want to merge down to white, you can add a new layer under the original background layer and fill it with white.

I'm also not sure what you mean by "8.8.8.8 ARGB 32 option." Each layer in PDN images is in ARGB (or BGRA, depending on how you think about it) format with eight bits per color channel (so 32 bits in all). The default file formats are PNG for single layer images and a custom format called PDN for multiple-layer images. Both are lossless formats that save the image as eight-bits-per-channel ARGB.

You can merge down in PDN, but you need a layer to merge down to; which is to say, you need at least two layers. I'm not sure what you have in mind when you say a "default background,"  but for instance if you want to merge down to white, you can add a new layer under the original background layer and fill it with white.

I'm also not sure what you mean by "8.8.8.8 ARGB 32 option." Each layer in PDN images is in ARGB (or BGRA, depending on how you think about it) format with eight bits per color channel. The default file formats are PNG for single layer images and a custom format called PDN for multiple-layer images. Both are lossless formats that save the image as eight-bits-per-channel ARGB.