Tablet scribble notes templates

Greetings Fellow Dotters,

Firstly, big thank you to Rick for creating a superb drawing instrument that I have been using for many years.

So having recently gotten a Surface3, I've been trying to develop a PDN file template for making hand written notes.

I have found that it would be great if PdN could remember which layer was the active layer on last use of a PDN file and to set to it as default on the next opening-up of the file.

I have found a few threads that touch upon this aspect to some degree and would be great if this could be implemented if it was feasible (as a sneaky feature request consideration  ;))

Basically, I want the zero-th layer to have a background like a lined solid white page with a transparent second layer for writing on.

In the absence of being able to lock down the active layer, I have thought up of two ways to make scribble note templates.

1. Use the zero-th layer as the input layer to write on and:

- Page line markings are put on a second layer, which has transperancy set to about 50%.

( this allows any scribblings on the zero-th layer to come through and appear as if they were above the lines )

- Mistakes are corrected (without using Undo) by selecting areas of the input to cut or erase.

- The hole showing the checkered background then need to be repaired use the Area Fill tool.

Pro: Immediately able to write on the input layer on opening the file.

Con: Correcting errors more onerous.

2. Use the zero-th layer as background with page line markings and:

- A second layer is used as the input layer for handwriting, etc.

- Mistakes are corrected (without using Undo) by selecting areas of the input layer to cut or erase.
  - Either uncheck the visibility of the zero-th layer before saving the template

( this prevents input on opening the file and user is reminded to do something - ie. set input layer and make zero-th layer visible )