Making smooth, rather than jagged lines using the paintbrush

mark88

Hi,

I'm a total newbie, I just downloaded this program today for the first time.  I downloaded it because I am trying to draw over photographs using paintbrush.  Using ms paint, the lines/curves were very jagged.  Using paint.net, the lines/curves seem noticably better (right?), but I can still see some jagged edges.  Is there any way I can reduce or eliminate this, while still being able to freely move the mouse around and draw whatever I like? 

I have noticed that reducing the "hardness" seems to help, but then the line gets a little fuzzy.  Is this the best way to reduce jagged edges... to find a good spot on the "hardness" scale, where its not too fuzzy but not too jaggy?  Or are there other, better ways?

How far are you zoomed in?

The Doctor: There was a goblin, or a trickster, or a warrior... A nameless, terrible thing, soaked in the blood of a billion galaxies. The most feared being in all the cosmos. And nothing could stop it, or hold it, or reason with it. One day it would just drop out of the sky and tear down your world.
Amy: But how did it end up in there?
The Doctor: You know fairy tales. A good wizard tricked it.
River Song: I hate good wizards in fairy tales; they always turn out to be him.

Hi,

thanks for your comment.

I checked, its set the right way.

I'll attach a test of what im getting.  The % is what the hardness is set at.

Does this look normal to you?  

It occurs to me that using a mouse, maybe this is the best it/I can do.  For sure its better than microsoft paint, right?

Is there another way I can draw, without using the mouse, that might be easier?  This is a WIndows 7 PC, without a touchscreen.  Maybe something like a stylus and a trackpad, where I could look at the screen and draw with my hand... though that might be awkward, I dont know...?

post-145192-0-25545600-1451924437_thumb.