Making a template.

Hi.

I'm new in using Paint.net, and I'm having some problems that I hope anyone in here can help me with. I have an attached file and I want to know, if it's possible to do a template/pattern like that in Paint.net? I also have some essues when I set the size of a pic. When I have made one size and print it out, it's not that size. I don't print my image to match an A4 paper.

Hope you can help me.

Greetings from Karina.

Hi Karina. Welcome to the forums.

Unfortunately there is no attached image.

When you attach an image you need to;

1. Click on Choose File

2. Choose the file you want

3. Click on the button just below the Choose File one Attach This File

Matching image size with print is best understood & explained by reading David Atwell's wonderful article here

Hope this helps you. Please upload the image again & we will do our best to help you.

THiGVp.png

Knowledge is no burden to carry.

April Jones, 2012

Yes a template like that can be constructed. We'd need to know more details of exactly what you want to do with it.

Looks like you're into book folding. Did you know there is a plugin which automates the process? Have a look at this... http://forums.getpaint.net/index.php?/topic/32439-pixelcounter-2/

RE: printing.

The usual problem with screen images not matching the print size is that the density of the two don't match. Your screen is probably running at 96 pixels per inch while the printer is probably in the range of 150 to 300 dots per inch.

This excellent tutorial on the subject might help explain http://forums.getpaint.net/index.php?/topic/17049-dpi-and-you-understanding-resolution-for-print-and-web/

Very briefly the resolution is to either lower the print resolution to that of your screen (looks awful) or raise the pixel dimensions (i.e. make the image height and width larger) to match the print density.