Ante Meridiem- Hello PDN

ante meridiem

Hi PDN Forums!

I've been a lurker for a while, using some of the tutorials. I finally decided to sign up. I've been using PDN for a few years now, and I find it quite entertaining.

http://i.imgur.com/cejarZ3.jpg (full size,1657x1415)

amclocksm.png

So...considering I missed a few shadows in the first attempt, here's the second. I changed out some of the gears so they will actually mesh, edited the colours just a hair, and, of course, added the missing shadows. I also edited the background a little. All the lines in all the textures were going to same direction.

http://i.imgur.com/fiDe7Ry.jpg (full size, 1625x1474)

i72.png

Here's a design I used for my tattoo a few months ago

a5v.png

Edited by ante meridiem
  • Upvote 1

Wow, that's really great. You've got some neat textures going on. I can see maze render used as a part that holds up the gear. Seems like this is well-thought out and not just everything thrown in. I love this!

sig-1.png
Don't spit into the well, you might drink from it later. -----Yiddish Proverb

Glossy Galaxy Ball---How to Make Foliage
My Gallery

PDN Fans--My DA

Wow, that's really great. You've got some neat textures going on. I can see maze render used as a part that holds up the gear. Seems like this is well-thought out and not just everything thrown in. I love this!

Thanks! I wanted something interesting for the crank bar. I would have done something like the swirls on the sun gear, but it wasn't rendering the way I hoped.

Verrry nice.  Love the use of Kaleidoscope for the 5 bar piece.  Really nice textures throughout ... although (and I'm not sure you've finished yet) it would benefit from some shadowing to give it that bit of depth like you've done in places.

Great start to your gallery and welcome to the forums

Thanks! I need to remake the entire image eventually. I want the teeth to mesh better.

Edited by ante meridiem