chrome text (with melting chrome text)

pdnnoob

This tutorial is available as a PDF. Click here to view or download it

ever since I saw barkbark00's chrome text (http://forums.getpaint.net/index.php?/topic/12285-realistic-chrome-text/), I have been looking for ways to make it less tedious. Here are my results. It's my first time making a tutorial, so don't kill me for it.

You will need the following plugins:

Bevel

Feather

You can get both of them here.

http://forums.getpaint.net/index.php?/topic/8318-boltbaits-plugin-pack-updated-july-15-2010/page__hl__bevel

:PaintBucketTool: 1. Use the paint bucket to fill the whole image with black. This is only to make it easier to see what you are doing. You can delete the layer when you are done.

:AddNewLayer: 2. Add a new layer.

:TextTool: 3. Type in your text on the new layer. Make sure you made the text white and make the size around 108. You can use any font you want. Rounded fonts are preferable.

it should look sort of like this:

:MagicWandTool: 4. Select the area around the text using the magic wand tool set on 0% tolerance and make the flood mode global :Link: .

:InvertSelection: 5. invert selection (ctrl+i)

6. Bevel selection. Change up the properties so that the text appears rounded. (sorry about my poor descriptions)

:DuplicateLayer: 7. Duplicate the layer

:InvertColors: 8. Invert colors

:Properties: 9. Make the layer blend mode "Difference"

:MergeDown: 10. Merge layer down

:Curves: 11. Adjust the luminosity. It doesn't necessarily have to be exactly the way I did it.

12. Feather the text layer

If you want, you can delete the black layer.

Show your results!

EDIT: When you use the feather tool, make sure you set it on "true feather" (or "shrink" if you don't have the same version as me)

EDIT: Melting chrome text

I tried to make this in a new topic, but it got locked. david.atwell told me I could add it to this tutorial, so here it is!

:D 1. You'll need some text to melt, so go make some...