Jump to content


Photo

Icon, Cursor, and Animated Cursor Format v3.7 (May 2010)


261 replies to this topic

#21 Pc dokter

Pc dokter
  • Members
  • 44 posts
  • LocationAntwerp, Belgium
  • Reputation:0

Posted 29 June 2006 - 05:19 PM

Effects belong to the 'Effects directory'

Filetypes belong to the 'FileTypes directory'
  • 0

#22 crosswalker

crosswalker
  • Members
  • 168 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 29 June 2006 - 10:48 PM

This is great!!!
  • 0
Posted Image

#23 Cortana

Cortana
  • Newbies
  • 1 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 09 July 2006 - 06:10 AM

really good plugin.
i find it best if you select all th formats as a merged because then no matter the size or color settings it still looks good
  • 0

#24 Javert

Javert
  • Members
  • 73 posts
  • LocationDayton, Ohio
  • Reputation:0

Posted 15 July 2006 - 04:53 PM

I love the plugin, but I've run into a small snag. It doesn't seem to support 256*256 sized Icons [in 32, 8, or 4 bit settings] (Vista Supported). Any news on when this format will be added?
  • 0
Posted Image

#25 evanolds

evanolds
  • Members
  • 74 posts
  • Reputation:8

Posted 16 July 2006 - 09:31 PM

I love the plugin, but I've run into a small snag. It doesn't seem to support 256*256 sized Icons [in 32, 8, or 4 bit settings] (Vista Supported). Any news on when this format will be added?


There is a glitch with 255x255 icons that I was hoping to get around to fixing by the next version but 256x256 I thought worked ok. I've tested it with certain 256x256 icons and they load ok. Can you upload some of the icons that don't work on the web and send me a link to them? Then maybe I could see what's happening with them.
  • 0

#26 Javert

Javert
  • Members
  • 73 posts
  • LocationDayton, Ohio
  • Reputation:0

Posted 18 July 2006 - 09:47 PM

I love the plugin, but I've run into a small snag. It doesn't seem to support 256*256 sized Icons [in 32, 8, or 4 bit settings] (Vista Supported). Any news on when this format will be added?


There is a glitch with 255x255 icons that I was hoping to get around to fixing by the next version but 256x256 I thought worked ok. I've tested it with certain 256x256 icons and they load ok. Can you upload some of the icons that don't work on the web and send me a link to them? Then maybe I could see what's happening with them.


I can't find the file right now, but IIRC it was one that used the Vista PNG compression for the 256 size. If I find it again, I'll make sure I let you know.
  • 0
Posted Image

#27 Illnab1024

Illnab1024
  • Members
  • 1,300 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
  • Reputation:6

Posted 18 July 2006 - 10:11 PM

Off-topic a bit:
Javert: Nice sig. ;)
  • 0
~~

#28 Mangix

Mangix
  • Members
  • 51 posts
  • LocationCalifornia
  • Reputation:0

Posted 24 July 2006 - 04:39 AM

on the homepage of this plugin, i see a new window which gives settings on how to save a picture. but when i open a PNG file and when i try to save it, it only saves it as a 32x32 icon file. so my question is, where is that window.
  • 0

#29 Illnab1024

Illnab1024
  • Members
  • 1,300 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
  • Reputation:6

Posted 24 July 2006 - 04:44 AM

Do you have the latest version?
  • 0
~~

#30 Mangix

Mangix
  • Members
  • 51 posts
  • LocationCalifornia
  • Reputation:0

Posted 24 July 2006 - 01:02 PM

whoops. no i don't. installed it now and works like a charm :)
  • 0

#31 Javert

Javert
  • Members
  • 73 posts
  • LocationDayton, Ohio
  • Reputation:0

Posted 24 July 2006 - 01:13 PM

Off-topic a bit:
Javert: Nice sig. ;)


Thanks

Oh, and I found the Icon, and I took a screenshot of the problem

Icon

Problem
  • 0
Posted Image

#32 evanolds

evanolds
  • Members
  • 74 posts
  • Reputation:8

Posted 26 July 2006 - 07:35 AM

Yeah, that's a strange one. Internet explorer, Irfanview and XnView won't even open it at all, yet WinXP can display it in the normal explorer views.

It looks as though the icon format has been perversed again, to a mode beyond its original intent. As I recall, the format specifications I read didn't say anything about allowing PNG images to be embeded within the file; animated cursors were supposedly supposed to have similar abilities though (they're RIFFs, different from the icon and cursor format). In any event, I'm not sure how I'll tackle this one.

At this point it seems like that may be a "freak" icon, but if all Windows Vista icons work this way then it would be good to support it.

I'd say maybe 50% chance I'll figure it out and get support for it, but well less than 50% chance that it will be in the next version. It may not be a real issue until Vista is released for the masses anyway.

Thanks for pointing this out though, I'll definately have to keep this in mind.
  • 0

#33 Rick Brewster

Rick Brewster

    Paint.NET Author and Developer

  • Administrators
  • 13,513 posts
  • LocationKirkland, WA
  • Reputation:321

Posted 26 July 2006 - 07:48 AM

Yes, this is how Vista icons work. The 256x256 version is expected to be in a compressed format. Otherwise they'd add 256 KB to the .ICO ... and thus 256 KB to just about every Vista executable.
  • 0
The Paint.NET Blog: http://blog.getpaint.net/
Donations are always appreciated! http://www.getpaint.net/donate.html

Posted Image

#34 darknight

darknight
  • Members
  • 53 posts
  • Locationmilan - italy
  • Reputation:0

Posted 26 July 2006 - 11:16 AM

I think there's something wrong. I download the icon and icon file haven't icon form (it appera as generic file)
Opening t with microangelo doesn't work. After a long time it auto close with an error.
  • 0

#35 Javert

Javert
  • Members
  • 73 posts
  • LocationDayton, Ohio
  • Reputation:0

Posted 26 July 2006 - 01:45 PM

The only program I've been able to open the icon with is IconWorkshop 5/6, and my free trials are used up so I can't get you a copy of what it should look like.
  • 0
Posted Image

#36 evanolds

evanolds
  • Members
  • 74 posts
  • Reputation:8

Posted 26 July 2006 - 07:59 PM

... I can't get you a copy of what it should look like.


I can :D

Posted Image

The upcoming version will have support for these icons (as you can see).
  • 0

#37 Illnab1024

Illnab1024
  • Members
  • 1,300 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
  • Reputation:6

Posted 27 July 2006 - 03:38 AM

Neat! No 20160-bit loading. I actually noticed something like this when using a program that did not uncompress Targa's correctly, so the alpha channel was garbled
  • 0
~~

#38 Javert

Javert
  • Members
  • 73 posts
  • LocationDayton, Ohio
  • Reputation:0

Posted 27 July 2006 - 02:52 PM

... I can't get you a copy of what it should look like.


I can :D



The upcoming version will have support for these icons (as you can see).


Dear Sir - I salute you greatly, for you have moved me to the point that when I get a job I shall donate money to support this wonderful program!
  • 0
Posted Image

#39 evanolds

evanolds
  • Members
  • 74 posts
  • Reputation:8

Posted 30 July 2006 - 06:42 AM

A new version (3.0) is now available. As mentioned previsouly, this version supports the new Windows Vista icons that have PNG compressed images within them. Also animated cursors are now supported.

Posted Image
(animated cursor save dialog)

The download link is the same as before:
http://www.evanolds.com/IcoCur.zip

Please let me know if you find any bugs.
  • 0

#40 Illnab1024

Illnab1024
  • Members
  • 1,300 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
  • Reputation:6

Posted 30 July 2006 - 04:26 PM

Wow. You have turned this into one of the more advanced icon editing freeware programs out there. :D Amazing.

EDIT: Notice the layers as frames :) Also, i tested the PNG vista ICO and it worked beautifully. Possibility of Saving 256x compressed?
  • 0
~~