Here's what I've got so far

I know it lacks sparkle and pizzazz. But I did play around with the shadow by holding a book to the wall. Discovered that the light source made the difference and one of them did look like this.

But I have repeatedly stressed I'm not an artist. I can do colors in decorating a room pretty well, but a cover for me is a whole nother ballgame! :/

So please, please jump in with suggestions. I followed Fuzzy's directions and liked that I could get it to work--just not to stand out!

The manuscript page has to stay as is as far as font color--well, maybe not. It would have been probably a pen and ink sketch. 

But the rest of the cover is open for improvements!

I'll be grateful--for whatever that's worth. As they say, that and $4 will get you a latte. (or will it?)

Renee

Well, shoot! It wouldn't allow me to upload: "You aren't permitted to upload this kind of file." Why not? The little naked ladies from a six hundred year old mss?? That's in Yale U. library and in public domain?? Or because it's PDN?

What a disappointment.

Thank you, Daniel. I did blur the shadow but not enough I guess.

The "outline" on the right is part of the cover of the codex and I tried to crop it out, but it was stubborn.

As to increasing the blue, sure I'll do that.

But I'm not sure what book you mean to increase the contrast on/in? The mss. page is the original and I didn't touch it, so how would I increase the contrast on it? I truly don't know.

Was that the concept you were going for? Is it supposed to be retro or something for kids?

If it is, fine. Otherwise, if it's supposed to be a serious book (we talked about Dan Brown in another thread), well the amateurism shows. I was a new author at one point and my early covers were really terrible. But I want to stress that the importance of the cover cannot be understated. People do judge your book by its cover.

There are many designers available and some have premade covers available for as low as $25.