Jump to content


Photo

Where do screenshots go after I press the prt sc button?


7 replies to this topic

#1 CrazyPainterz

CrazyPainterz
  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 30 May 2012 - 12:51 PM

I'm kind of confused, because I press Print Screen... but where does it go? I want to know, mainly because its all curiosity pushing these questions around my head.

Edited by CrazyPainterz, 31 May 2012 - 08:12 AM.

  • 0
Posted Image
Paint with PDN like there is no tomorrow!

#2 rafroller

rafroller
  • Competition Hosts
  • 91 posts
  • LocationFrance
  • Reputation:5

Posted 30 May 2012 - 01:14 PM

I'm kind of confused, because I press Print Screen... but where does it go? I want to know, mainly because its all curiosity pushing these questions around me head.

It goes into your clipboard, so you have to paste it. Hope I helped you :).
  • 0

Posted Image


PDN tutorials in french: "FrenchPDNtutos" - Visit my gallery here !

Sig battles won: 4


#3 jim100361

jim100361
  • Members
  • 849 posts
  • LocationMilton NH
  • Reputation:50

Posted 30 May 2012 - 05:40 PM

Back in the early days of desktop PCs the Prt Sc (or Print Screen - depending upon your keyboard) did precisely that, it would send the image directly to your printer. These days it holds the image in a memory location. So when you take a screenshot, the method of retrieving it is to paste your image into your application (Ctrl + V key combination).
  • 0
Posted Image

#4 doughty

doughty
  • Members
  • 440 posts
  • Locationsouthern Illinois
  • Reputation:62

Posted 30 May 2012 - 06:27 PM

Duh, how many years did I not know this. :aagh:

Thanks CrazyPainterz for asking this question
and thanks Rafroller and Jim100361 for answering.
  • 0

PaperAbstract.png

 

 funbar.png

 


#5 jim100361

jim100361
  • Members
  • 849 posts
  • LocationMilton NH
  • Reputation:50

Posted 30 May 2012 - 07:24 PM

I should caution you that if before you paste your screenshot to your application, if by chance you copy a line of text for example (highlighting text and pressing the Ctrl + C key combination) from something, it too goes to the clipboard and will essentially erase/overwrite the screenshot. So ensure that you paste the image before copying anything else.
  • 0
Posted Image

#6 Ego Eram Reputo

Ego Eram Reputo

    2013 Proton Award Winner

  • Moderators
  • 7,505 posts
  • LocationNorth Canterbury, New Zealand
  • Reputation:549

Posted 30 May 2012 - 10:12 PM

If you're using a dual monitor setup, the Print Screen key will cleverly capture the contents of both screens and copy it to the clipboard.

If you have multiple windows open, using Alt + Print Screen captures just the contents of the window that currently is active.
  • 1

#7 pdnnoob

pdnnoob

    2013 Radiance Award Winner

  • Moderators
  • 2,391 posts
  • Reputation:189

Posted 30 May 2012 - 11:04 PM

If you're using a dual monitor setup, the Print Screen key will cleverly capture the contents of both screens and copy it to the clipboard.

If you have multiple windows open, using Alt + Print Screen captures just the contents of the window that currently is active.

Now it's my turn to give a response like doughty's! Thanks for the info! :D
  • 0
noobsig-1.png
what I do all summer Emote Cursor Pack 'noob gallery
No, Paint.NET is not spyware...but, installing it is an IQ test. ~BoltBait
Blend modes are like the filling in your sandwich. It's the filling that can change your experience of the sandwich. ~Ego Eram Reputo

#8 CrazyPainterz

CrazyPainterz
  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 31 May 2012 - 08:12 AM

Thanks guys! You help me a lot :D
  • 0
Posted Image
Paint with PDN like there is no tomorrow!