How to Install Plugins ×

Add depth plug-in

maccas

Hi all,

I just picked up Paint.NET the other day after someone at work gave me a recommendation. I've been looking to try use it to create some icons and other computer graphics (as opposed to photo editing).

The issue I've come across is trying to add (the appearance of) depth to a 2D shape. I had a look at some of the tutorials to figure out how to do this and they seem to suggest either using:

• motion blur, which works but is a bit of a hack and you have to process the thing after to get the correct effect, or
  • duplicating, shifting and merging layers repeatedly, which also works but only on the axes or diagonal and is a little laborious

So I thought in for penny, in for a pound and had a crack at writing my first plug-in to automate the job. I apologise if someone's already done this as I'm new to PdN.

The plug-in is designed to work on an image on transparent background i.e. it doesn't detect white or any other colour as background and in particular if you pass it an image with no transparency there will be no effect! There are three parameters:

• Depth - how deep the offset fill is calculated at. The higher you put this value the slower the effect is to calculate as the code needs to check along the depth length for every output pixel (I need to have a ponder on whether this is optimal)
  • Angle - the angle at which the shape is filled back at
  • High Quality Mode - you'll get marginally better performance if you uncheck the box but the outer edges of the fill shape are more realistic if this mode is switched on. I put this in so the image was more responsive when you were playing around with angle and depth but to be honest I can't detect much difference in performance on my PC

I find it most useful if you duplicate the original surface layer so that after you're done you've got a surface layer and a depth layer play around with separately. In the screenshots below I've done the following: