Jump to content


Photo

How to make a Picture Filmstrip


53 replies to this topic

#1 cjmcguinness

cjmcguinness
  • Members
  • 641 posts
  • LocationDublin, Ireland.
  • Reputation:3

Posted 07 May 2007 - 10:18 PM

This tutorial will show you how to create a filmstrip style frame for your pictures.

Posted in reposponse to this request: http://paintdotnet.1...pic.php?p=39215

You will need to download and install the Tube Oblique plugin to complete this tutorial.

This strip will be setup to contain images in a 4:3 aspect ratio.

Start with a canvas size of 420w x 440h. Set your Primary colour to Black and fill the canvas.

EFFECTS > Add Noise: Intensity 64 (default), Colour Saturation 0.

EFFECTS > Blurs > Unfocus at 50px

ADJUSTMENTS > Sepia. This will give your 'filmstrip' a nice brownish camera film type of colour.

Using the Rectangle Select tool, draw a rectangle area that is 420px wide and 30px high, positioned 25px from the top of the canvas.
You can draw a base rectangle and use the Move Selection tool to resize and reposition. Use the information in the bottom right of the screen to get the correct size and position.

Posted Image

Create a new layer (CTRL+SHIFT+N).

Choose the Line/Curve tool, set Primary Colour to White, Secondary Colour to Black.
Set your Brush Width at 30 and your line style to Dotted.
Starting inside the left of your selected area, left-click and draw a line from left to right.

Posted Image

Now, with the dotted line still selected press CTRL+C to copy and CTRL+V to paste. By default the Move Selected Pixels tool will have been selected, so use the mouse to click and drag this selection to the bottom of the strip, make sure that it is offset 25px from the bottom.

Posted Image

Press CTRL+D to deselect and, EFFECTS > NOISE > Median: Radius 5, Percentile 50.

Posted Image

Use the rectangle select tool again and draw a rectangle that is 400 x 300 pixels, positioned 10,70 from the top left. Fill this rectangle white.

Posted Image

Select the Magic Wand tool and set the tolerance at 0%

Hold the SHIFT button and click in the main white area; this will highlight all the white areas.

Go to the Background layer and press Delete. You can now delete later 2.

Posted Image

Use the Rectangle Select tool and, holt the SHIFT key to draw a square about 100 x 100 pixels. Choose the Move Selection tool and, right-click to rotate the square to 45 degrees. Move the selected square to the bottom right of your canvas so that it is only covering a small potion in the corner measuring 20 x 20.

Posted Image

Press the Delete key to get rid of this corner. Repeat this process on the opposite corner.

Now, you need to decide how many frames are going to be in your film strip. I am going to do five here.

Set the Alpha Transparency of your Secondary Colour to 0 (zero). Then select IMAGE > Canvas Size.

Untick, Maintain Aspect Ratio and make sure the Anchor is set to Left.

You need to adjust the size of your canvas width depending on how many frames you want. I am using 5 frames, so I am changing the width of the canvas to 2100 (420x5).

Posted Image

Zoom out to 50% so you can see all the canvas. Now, use the Magic Wand tool again and, holding the SHIFT key click anywhere in transparent area, then press CTRL+I to invert selection.
Press CTRL+C to copy and CTRL+V to paste. Use the Move Selected pixels tool to move the selection to the right and position it.

Press CTRL+V again to paste another copy and move this into position. Repeat this another two times until the canvas is filled.

Posted Image

You'll need to have your filmstrip images prepared, cropped and resized to 400 x 300px.

Open each in a new image within PDN.

Go to your first image and press CTRL+A to select all and CTRL+C to copy.

Go back to your Filmstrip image and press CTRL+V to paste. Use the mouse and the arrow keys to position within the image window.

Posted Image

Repeat this by selecting your images one-by-one and copying them then returning to your filmstrip and pasting and positioning.

Posted Image

Press F4 to access the Layer Properties and set the Opacity at 230 (this will make your filmstrip slightly transparent) - this is optional.

Now, press CTRL+SHIFT+R to access the Canvas Size and, this time changing the Anchor to Bottom, change the canvas size to 2400 x 1200

Posted Image

EFFECTS > Distort > Tube Oblique: Horizontal 0, Vertical anything from 20 - 50, whichever suits best for your purpose.

Posted Image

You can now resize and or rotate your image to suit. Try producing multiple strips with different curvatures using the Tube Oblique effect and adjoin them to make a longer curved strip.

You can also add a Drop Shadow for effect - you will need the Drop Shadow plugin.

Posted Image
  • 0
Posted Image
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#2 BoltBait

BoltBait

    2013 Movie Guru Award Winner

  • Administrators
  • 9,490 posts
  • LocationCalifornia, USA
  • Reputation:258

Posted 07 May 2007 - 10:26 PM

Nice use of the new line drawing mode. 8)
  • 0
Click to play:
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image
Download: BoltBait's Plugin Pack | CodeLab | More... and how about a Computer Dominos Game

#3 jerkfight

jerkfight
  • Members
  • 3,223 posts
  • LocationOntario, Canada
  • Reputation:5

Posted 07 May 2007 - 10:36 PM

This is really good. So simple, yet good finish.

OFFTOPIC: cjmcguiness check your pms
  • 0

Posted Image


#4 Bob

Bob
  • Members
  • 3,033 posts
  • LocationLyon, France
  • Reputation:3

Posted 07 May 2007 - 10:37 PM

Draw with a transparent color (ie its alpha = 0) instead of drawing with white and deleting it afterwards.
  • 0

#5 The_Lionhearted

The_Lionhearted
  • Members
  • 2,613 posts
  • LocationSpringfield, MO
  • Reputation:3

Posted 07 May 2007 - 11:10 PM

Good stuff!
  • 0

#6 cjmcguinness

cjmcguinness
  • Members
  • 641 posts
  • LocationDublin, Ireland.
  • Reputation:3

Posted 07 May 2007 - 11:44 PM

Draw with a transparent color (ie its alpha = 0) instead of drawing with white and deleting it afterwards.


Yes, good suggestion. That would have saved creating the extra layer.

You'd have to remember to change the Blending Mode to Overwrite as well.
  • 0
Posted Image
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#7 OmgWtfBbq

OmgWtfBbq
  • Members
  • 195 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 08 May 2007 - 01:44 AM

Love it. Another great tut.
  • 0

#8 toe_head2001

toe_head2001
  • Members
  • 234 posts
  • LocationRepublic of Panama (From USA)
  • Reputation:1

Posted 08 May 2007 - 02:12 AM

Thanks. This is a very Useful tutorial.

Posted Image

Oh...I spelled Reel wrong
  • 0


Posted Image
Click the image to see my gallery!


#9 flyby

flyby
  • Members
  • 37 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 08 May 2007 - 11:45 AM

Once i created the box and go to use the dotted line style i can't . No where on mine can i find anywhere to change the line style, i have fill: then different things but in that there is nothing even remotely similiar to what you have.
can anyone point me in the right direction ?
Thankyou
  • 0

#10 Down

Down
  • Members
  • 539 posts
  • Location51°00'N-114°10'W
  • Reputation:2

Posted 08 May 2007 - 11:56 AM

Do you have the newest version?

Great tutorial btw.
  • 0

•♪♫♫♪•
Posted Image
|- The Rules -|- çobblestones -|- CaMo -|- MeTaL -|
╠═╧╨»Φ«╨╤═╣


#11 cjmcguinness

cjmcguinness
  • Members
  • 641 posts
  • LocationDublin, Ireland.
  • Reputation:3

Posted 08 May 2007 - 04:17 PM

Once i created the box and go to use the dotted line style i can't . No where on mine can i find anywhere to change the line style, i have fill: then different things but in that there is nothing even remotely similiar to what you have.
can anyone point me in the right direction ?
Thankyou


flyby,

The ability to change the line style was introduced in v3.07b

A stable release of 3.07 is now available from the Paint.NET website

Download and install the latest version and you will have access to this feature.
  • 0
Posted Image
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#12 Mr.F

Mr.F
  • Members
  • 18 posts
  • LocationNorway, Akershus
  • Reputation:0

Posted 08 May 2007 - 07:59 PM

Awsome tut, can't wait untill trying it myselfe :)
  • 0
Posted Image

#13 flyby

flyby
  • Members
  • 37 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 08 May 2007 - 08:43 PM

Ok ill download that one, thankyou for all this :D
  • 0

#14 moc426

moc426
  • Members
  • 369 posts
  • Reputation:3

Posted 09 May 2007 - 12:27 AM

Nice tutorial, new line tool's use is excellent in this.
  • 0

#15 flyby

flyby
  • Members
  • 37 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 09 May 2007 - 11:23 AM

I went to download it and it turns out i already had that version, and i still cant find that line thingy,
Can anyone help me ?
I really need to be able to do this just my luck i cant find it !!
  • 0

#16 Down

Down
  • Members
  • 539 posts
  • Location51°00'N-114°10'W
  • Reputation:2

Posted 09 May 2007 - 12:16 PM

Look at the second screenshot.
  • 0

•♪♫♫♪•
Posted Image
|- The Rules -|- çobblestones -|- CaMo -|- MeTaL -|
╠═╧╨»Φ«╨╤═╣


#17 flyby

flyby
  • Members
  • 37 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 09 May 2007 - 12:43 PM

Yeah i have looked at that, i have brush width, then fill ,
no line style there or anywhere that i can find.
  • 0

#18 flyby

flyby
  • Members
  • 37 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 09 May 2007 - 12:45 PM

Its ok i have found it , sory for all this !

Edit : is there any way to get the film strip to curve the other way ?
  • 0

#19 OmgWtfBbq

OmgWtfBbq
  • Members
  • 195 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 10 May 2007 - 02:04 AM

Yep just play around with the Rotate/Zoom tool
  • 0

#20 Enormator

Enormator
  • Members
  • 308 posts
  • Locationwhere my laptop is
  • Reputation:2

Posted 10 May 2007 - 02:46 PM

Have you digital guys never seen a film? In Germany it's called a "Negativ". Not for no reason. The pictures should be negative for more realism.
  • 0