Jump to content


Photo

Lighten and darkening specific areas correctly


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Dragoneer

Dragoneer
  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 06 June 2008 - 03:49 AM

I need to know the best way to lighten part of a picture without it being two-toned. An example of this is when I took a picture of someone inside a house.
The orange dress is vivid, and the white wall and door came out good also. The problem is that the lighting wasn't good enough to bring out the true skin tone of the person. So much so that the person's face could hardly be seen, and her neck and hands came out the same as her face also.
I tried to lighten her face by using the Ellipse in Tools>Adjustment>Brightness/Contrast making sure not to go outside the perimeter of the face. I then zoomed to 1600X and manually changed the rest of it a few pixels at a time by switching to the Rectangle in Tools . The result after more than an hour later was something that looked akin to pasting an egg in place of her face on the picture. It was grainy and looked ridiculous.
I don't want to lighten the whole picture because it ruins the true color of the dress, and not as important, the door and walls don't look as sharp and vivid either.
There must be a better way! At least I hope so.

P.S. I would also like to know how to do the reverse; darken a specific area without the two-toned look.
  • 0

#2 BoltBait

BoltBait

    2013 Movie Guru Award Winner

  • Administrators
  • 9,246 posts
  • LocationCalifornia, USA
  • Reputation:175

Posted 06 June 2008 - 03:59 AM

With this plugin: http://forums.getpai...?showtopic=5578
  • 0
Click to play:
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image
Download: BoltBait's Plugin Pack | CodeLab | More... and how about a Computer Dominos Game

#3 Dragoneer

Dragoneer
  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 06 June 2008 - 04:48 AM

I downloaded the plugin & tried to install it. I unzipped the file & nothing happened. All it showed was a dll file with 2 cogs. I checked in Adjustments & didn't see anything that would allow me to use the new plug-in.
Am I supposed to extract the file in a particular file/location?
  • 0

#4 brandon.roeder

brandon.roeder
  • Members
  • 301 posts
  • LocationHouston, Texas
  • Reputation:0

Posted 06 June 2008 - 04:54 AM

program files-paint.net-effects. drang the dll's there and they will appear in the effects menu
  • 0

#5 Dragoneer

Dragoneer
  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 06 June 2008 - 05:46 AM

Thanks, I see it now!
  • 0

#6 adgorn

adgorn
  • Newbies
  • 1 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 17 January 2012 - 11:12 PM

With this plugin: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=6524


Is there a new location for this plugin? I would like to try it as well. Thanks.
  • 0

#7 BoltBait

BoltBait

    2013 Movie Guru Award Winner

  • Administrators
  • 9,246 posts
  • LocationCalifornia, USA
  • Reputation:175

Posted 17 January 2012 - 11:15 PM

Here it is: http://forums.getpai...?showtopic=5578
  • 0
Click to play:
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image
Download: BoltBait's Plugin Pack | CodeLab | More... and how about a Computer Dominos Game

#8 welshblue

welshblue

    Paint.NET's 2013 Teacher of the Year

  • Banned
  • 5,351 posts
  • Reputation:309

Posted 17 January 2012 - 11:16 PM

Possibly the recycle bin of doom for necro-posting but maybe BoltBait will update the link for you 1st ;)




I wish I'd put money on that :roll:


Edited by welshblue, 17 January 2012 - 11:26 PM.

  • 0

newsig.png

 

True friends are always there.

Acquaintances are fair weather

... and those who slag you off behind your back.  Pitiful

Have the bottle ...